Linn W. Moedinger Car

Strasburg Rail Road Linn W. Moedinger Scholarship

Available Dates:
  • May 9, 2019
    (4:00 p.m.)
  • All Ages: $75 - $200
Pre-purchase online or by phone at 1-866-725-9666

A group of grateful people, in partnership with the Strasburg Rail Road Company (SRC) helped create the Strasburg Rail Road Linn W. Moedinger Scholarship – an endowed scholarship program at Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology. The program is named in honor of former SRC president Linn W. Moedinger who served the Strasburg Rail Road for 50 years (1968 – 2018; president 2000 – 2018). The endowment covers two scholarships which will help continue to grow our region’s economy and workforce development.

Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology is a renowned institution for developing technical skills vital to Pennsylvania’s workforce readiness. This permanent fund will provide two ongoing annual scholarships to deserving Stevens College students studying welding and/or machining – essential crafts in today’s world and at the Strasburg Rail Road’s Mechanical Shop.

In honor of the establishment of the scholarship program and to help raise funds for the program, the Strasburg Rail Road is hosting a unique chartered train ride on Thursday, May 9 from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. Join other scholarship donors for the formal check presentation to Stevens College followed by a VIP train ride aboard The Presidents Special, a first-of-its-kind train featuring a lineup of historic railcars all named in honor of former Strasburg Rail Road Company presidents.

The Strasburg Rail Road will give all profits from each ticket purchase to the Linn W. Moedinger Scholarship fund so that future generations can learn these historic trades that helped build America. The Strasburg Rail Road’s goal is to raise an additional $7,000 towards the scholarship through the opportunity of The Presidents Special. With your help, we can do it.

Each ticket holder receives admission to the presentation, train ride aboard The Presidents Special, souvenir program, and commemorative ticket. Tickets holders at the Silver level also receive food and drink aboard their respective car.

Thank you to our donors!

Platinum Level ($10,000 and above)

Anonymous donor

Gold Level ($2,500 – $9,999)

Martha J. Benner
Joyce Ebright
D. Robert and Sarah L. Furlow
Steven D. Mitchell
Jack and Karen Molnar
Beverley R. Steinman

Silver Level ($1,000 – $2,499)

Railroad Solutions
Trout, Ebersole & Groff
Richard Bidgood and Ann Steiner
Andy and Rita Hallock
Stephen and Susan Kahler
Susan Young Nicholas

Bronze Level (up to $999)

American Heritage Railways
Battery Warehouse
Butz Sign Company
Charter Homes
Clark Associate Charitable Foundation
Paul and Anne Baringer
Lynn and Carol Dolan
Joseph and Susan Glass
Hershey Groff, Jr.
Stephen and Linda Himpsl
Linda Lestz
Jeffery and Bonnie Minnich
Darwin L. Mowery
David E. Pallone
Sarah Schreiner
Robert L. Schroeder
Thomas and Rochelle Shenk
Mark and Eileen Shipe