Locomotive No. 89 ran on the Canadian National Railway for most of her life before being sold to the Green Mountain Railroad in New Hampshire. After just a few years on the Green Mountain RR, the locomotive was sold to the Strasburg Rail Road in late Spring 1972. The harrowing experience battling Hurricane Agnes’ flood waters during her journey to Strasburg is chronicled in Images of Rail: Strasburg Rail Road. Today, No. 89 is still an active locomotive at Strasburg and is often the locomotive of choice to pull smaller train consists.
Locomotive No. 90 has become an iconic symbol of the Strasburg Rail Road. While she may be the youngest steam locomotive on the roster, she is the largest, and to some, she reigns as the grande dame of Strasburg’s fleet of steam locomotives. Built in June of 1924 for the Great Western Railroad by Baldwin Locomotive Works of Philadelphia, No. 90 is one of just two operational Decapod class (2-10-0 wheel configuration) locomotives remaining in America! After spending 40 years of hauling commodities—primarily sugar beets—through the mountains of northern Colorado, she was sold to the Strasburg Rail Road in 1967 for a grand total of just $23,000. As soon as No. 90 arrived in Strasburg over 50 years ago, she instantly became a fan favorite and remains so even today.
Built by the Baldwin Locomotive Works of Philadelphia in June of 1906 and run on the Norfolk & Western Railroad as a mixed use engine until 1962, No. 475 is Strasburg Rail Road’s oldest and second largest steam locomotive. No. 475’s unusual 4-8-0 wheel configuration makes her known as an “Mastodon” or “M-Class” locomotive. She is the only 4-8-0 class locomotive currently operating in North America! She is also one of the last surviving examples of a Norfolk & Western Railroad locomotive. No. 475 arrived in Strasburg in 1991 after the railroad purchased the locomotive for a mere $100,000. After an approximate $640,000 extensive overhaul and restoration, she pulled her first passenger train on Strasburg’s line in the fall of 1993. No. 475 was made famous for her role in the movie, Thomas and the Magic Railroad.No. 475’s size and ability to pull nearly any size train makes her a “go-to” locomotive for nearly any need Strasburg may have—passenger, freight, or otherwise.
The historic Lancaster, Oxford, & Southern Railroad (L.O.& S.) No. 10 is the last remaining piece of rolling stock from that long-forgotten little railroad and is believed to be the only piece of its kind built by the Sanders Machine Shop in Havre de Grace, Maryland. Constructed in 1915 as a cost-saving measure for the L.O.& S., the car was to intended to replace the railroad's steam locomotive, therefore reducing both maintenance and crew costs of moving passengers along the line during a time when the small railroad was plagued with financial troubles. Unfortunately, Car No. 10 saw only three years of service on the L.O.& S. The railroad never recovered from its financial difficulties. The nearly 50-year-old line ceased regular operations in 1918 and was sold for scrap in 1919.
Sometime after 1919, Car No. 10 was sold to the Grassee River Railroad in New York State. In remained part of the Grasse River RR until 1960 when it was sold to Winston Gottschalk of the Strasburg Rail Road. The car was extensively restored in 1973, then leased to several other small railroads unti l1984. It returned to Strasburg in 1985 and ran until 1991. After another full restoration between 1991 and 1997, the car reentered passenger service on the Strasburg Rail Road where it has remained in service ever since.